• Tygarts Valley 59Hannan 8Final[ view all ]
  • Sissonville 26Liberty 7Final[ view all ]
  • Doddridge County 27Valley Wetzel 7Final[ view all ]
  • Clay-Battelle 20Van 12Final[ view all ]
  • Lewis County 42Elkins 0Final[ view all ]
  • Braxton County 13Webster County 12Final[ view all ]
  • Grafton 50Lincoln 49Final[ view all ]
  • Robert C. Byrd 56North Marion 21Final[ view all ]
  • Morgantown 21John Marshall 6Final[ view all ]
  • Pendleton County 50Tucker County 6Final[ view all ]
  • Magnolia 34Tyler Consolidated 0Final[ view all ]
  • University 29Preston 25Final[ view all ]
  • Fairmont Senior 35Buckhannon-Upshur 27Final[ view all ]
  • Notre Dame 34Gilmer County 13Final[ view all ]
  • Saint Marys 42South Harrison 7Final[ view all ]
National News | Closings | Funerals | HighScore | Monday's Most Wanted | Crime Watch | TV Listings | Lottery | Bio's | FCC File | More ›
Eleven Counties Declared Federal Disaster Areas; FEMA Stepping In to Help
Written by Your 5News Team
Last updated on March 21, 2012 @ 2:10PM
Created on March 19, 2012 @ 6:27PM
The Federal Emergency Management Agency is here and ready to help the eleven storm damaged counties in our state that President Obama recently declared Federal Disaster Areas.

The declaration covers damage from February 29 - March 5th.  FEMA says tornado victims in Wayne and Lincoln Counties and flood victims in Marion, Monongalia, Preston, Taylor, Ritchie, Roane and Mingo Counties are all eligible for public assistance.

FEMA officials are urging everyone who thinks they qualify for help to give them a call at 1-800-621-FEMA.  Phones will be answered seven days a week from 7:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. or you can visit the agency's website at fema.gov.

Governor Earl Ray Tomblin says he plans to ask the President for more federal funding to help Logan, Lincoln and Mingo counties.  A flash flood devastated those areas on March 15, after the dates covered by this initial federal disaster declaration.
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of West Virginia and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by severe storms, tornadoes, flooding, mudslides, and landslides during the period of February 29 to March 5, 2012.  To read more, Click Here
Related Links:

Add your Comment
You must have an active WDTV.COM user account to post comments. Please login to your account, or create your free account today!

Comments (0)
WDTV on Facebook
WDTV on Twitter
WDTV on YouTube
Contact WDTV
WDTV Mobile App