UPDATE: Gov. Justice adds two counties to the State of Emergency proclamation

Published: Feb. 16, 2021 at 2:11 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn


Updated Story (02/18/2021 10:45 AM):

Gov. Jim Justice has added Jackson and Mason counties to his State of Emergency proclamation for severe winter weather.

The State of Emergency, originally announced on Tuesday for Cabell, Lincoln, Putnam, and Wayne counties due to severe winter storms causing numerous power outages and road blockages, remains in effect for these counties as well.

Original Story (02/16/2021 5:25 PM):

Gov. Jim Justice has declared a State of Emergency for Cabell, Lincoln, Putnam, and Wayne counties due to the severe winter storm that has caused numerous power outages and road blockages over the past week.

Gov. Justice has also declared a State of Preparedness for the remaining 51 counties due to further severe winter storms that are expected to cause additional outages and road blockages throughout West Virginia.

As part of Tuesday’s State of Emergency, the Governor has directed the West Virginia Emergency Management Division to:

  • Implement the West Virginia Emergency Operations Plan as it relates to winter storm response.
  • Mobilize appropriate personnel and resources to respond to the emergency.

The State of Emergency will remain in effect for 30 days, unless terminated by subsequent proclamation.

Copyright 2021 WDTV. All rights reserved.