West Virginia's concealed handgun recognition extends to 16 new states

Published: Oct. 6, 2016 at 9:48 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Attorney General Patrick Morrisey announced an expansion in concealed handgun recognition, as well as announcing his office kept every existing concealed carry agreement between West Virginia and 35 other states.

According to a press release, sixteen states provided a written agreement stating they will recognize the state’s provisional licenses, meaning 18- to 21-year-old license holders now enjoy the freedom to carry their concealed handgun into 16 states as they travel. This is in addition to the Mountain State's traditional licenses.

States agreeing to recognize both licenses are Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and Wyoming.

Additionally, 19 other states confirmed they will only continue to recognize the Mountain State's traditional concealed carry licenses.

Those states are Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia and Wisconsin.

Morrisey says West Virginians may carry concealed without a license in Maine and Vermont.

The Attorney General's office reminds gun owners it is their own responsibility to know and understand each state's gun laws.