Concealed carry agreement reached between WV and Wisconsin

Published: Aug. 18, 2017 at 2:33 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Attorney General Patrick Morrisey announced Friday that mutual recognition of concealed carry permits has been established between West Virginia and Wisconsin.

While West Virginian’s have been allowed to carry with a permit in Wisconsin, the new agreement allows those with a permit from Wisconsin to carry in West Virginia.

West Virginia now has mutual recognition or a reciprocity agreement regarding concealed carry with Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

West Virginians can also carry concealed without a permit in Maine and Vermont, and with a license in Montana.

However, the attorney general advises that not all the states allow those under the age of 20 to carry.

For full information regarding concealed handgun licenses in West Virginia, you can visit the Related Link.