Marion County commission appoints president, votes to consolidate precincts

MARION COUNTY, W.Va. (WDTV) - Marion County commissioners announced today that they have re-appointed Ernie VanGilder as president.

The commissioners also voted to approve the consolidation of three of the county's smaller precincts. Those precincts are number 58: Little Laurel Run, 62: Plum Run United Methodist Church, and 70: Calvary Bible Church.

This will reduce the number of precincts to 73, a decision that the commissioners say is a money-saving opportunity for the county.