President Trump approves disaster declaration for state

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WDTV) - President Donald Trump has approved a federal disaster declaration for West Virginia counties impacted by the severe storms, flooding, landslides, and mudslides of July 28-29.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced the federal disaster assistance Friday, to supplement state and local recovery efforts.

The president's action makes federal funding available for Doddridge, Harrison, Marion, Marshall, Monongalia, Ohio, Preston, Randolph, Taylor, Tucker, Tyler, and Wetzel counties.

Assistance for affected individuals can include rental payments for temporary housing, grants to replace personal property and for home repairs, and loans for small businesses and non-profit organizations that have suffered disaster-related cash flow problems.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in these areas can begin applying for assistance Saturday by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).