Riggs Makes School-History, AA Softball All-Staters Announced

Published: Jun. 6, 2019 at 9:39 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Emily Riggs made the most out of her time on the high school softball field. The senior shortstop, who batted .500 with 7 homers and 33 RBI, became the first Bridgeport softball player ever to earn a spot on the All-State First Team during all four years of high school.

Riggs was joined by her teammate Paige Humble on this years team. Humble was first teamer in the outfield and was joined by RCB's Tiara Snyder there. Lewis County's Bella Posey and Liberty freshman Emma Kyle also earned spots on the first team for their work as catchers.

Full AA softball team is listed below:

First team

P – Delani Buckner, Herbert Hoover, jr. (captain)

P – Holly Brehm, Wyoming East, sr.

P – Carly Cooper, jr. Petersburg

P – Bella Savilla, soph., Nitro

IF – Jenna Thomas, sr. Sissonville

IF – Kaylen Parks, soph. Independence

IF – Emily Riggs, sr. Bridgeport

IF – Nicole Kester, sr. Independence

IF – Cortney Fizer, soph. Herbert Hoover

OF – Tiara Snyder, sr., Robert C. Byrd

OF – Paige Humble, soph., Bridgeport

OF – Kennedy Dean, fr., Winfield

C – Bella Posey, sr., Lewis County

C – Emma Kyle, fr., Liberty Harrison

UTIL – Presley McGee, jr., Herbert Hoover

UTIL – Lena Elkins, fr., Nitro

UTIL – Allie Mace, soph. Roane County

UTIL – Bradlea Hayhurst, jr. Shady Spring

Second team

P – Madison Legg, fr. Sissonville

P – Madison Corbin, jr., East Fairmont

P – Paige Maynard, fr. Liberty Raleigh

P – Madi Andrick, sr., Lincoln

IF – Peyton Jordan, jr. Point Pleasant

IF – Olivia Barnett, fr., Shady Spring

IF – Grayson Buckner, fr., Herbert Hoover

IF – Morgan Riffle, soph., Lewis County

IF – Ashlyn Spears, sr., Roane County

OF – Savannah Holbrook, jr., Oak Hill

OF – Katie Koontz, jr. Petersburg

OF – Kerigan Moore, soph. Nitro

C – Bryanna Moreland, jr. Petersburg (captain)

C – Sophia Mikula, jr. Weir

UTIL – Madison McKay, fr. Oak Glen

UTIL – Cara Minor, sr., North Marion

UTIL – Mallory Rosnick, fr. Weir

UTIL – Zoey Henline, jr., Lewis County

Special honorable mention

Kate Stanley, Bridgeport; Haleigh Ferris, Lincoln; Shadee Hawkins, Lincoln; Bailey Malnick, North Marion; Sarah Simon, Philip Barbour; Frederique Maldley, Grafton; Tori Lambert, East Fairmont; Alex Carr, Braxton County; Elizabeth Queen, Wayne; Whitney Sansom, Wayne; Paige Laxton, Wyoming East; Ashleigh Sexton, Independence; Savannah Bragg, Independence; Isabella Aperfine, Weir; Hannah Patterson, Oak Glen; Alexis Bailey, Sissonville; Rebekah Woody, Herbert Hoover; Megan Seafler, Herbert Hoover; Faith Gaylor, Winfield; Elyssa Medley, Winfield; Sierra Cook, Chapmanville; Sydni Cawley, Nitro; Alexa Shoemaker, Keyser; Randa Watts, Lincoln County; Tayah Fetty, Point Pleasant; Carley Jarrell, Roane County; Jenna Burgess, Petersburg

Honorable mention

Abby Hartley, Lewis County; Madison Smith, Liberty Harrison; Shay Swiger, East Fairmont; Morgan Bowers, Elkins; Ashton Malnick, North Marion; Raegan Roach, Wayne; Riley Adkins, Independence; Vanessa Wright, Liberty; Emily Jones, Shady Spring; Olivia Hylton, Wyoming East; Taylor Webster, Weir; Hannah Walker, Oak Glen; Taylor Carpenter, Herbert Hoover; Jess Canterbury, Herbert Hoover; Aly Soblit, Sissonville; Lola Baber, Winfield; Morgan Burdette, Nitro; Mercedes Bush, Poca; Jenna Barker, Chapmanville; ; Aubrey Smith, Keyser; Koree Roberts, Lincoln County; Natalie Fout, Lincoln County; Rachel LeRose, Nicholas County; Jayden Elkins, Scott; Reagan McCoy, Man; Ashlyn Conley, Logan; Marie Perdew, Frankfort; Rylee Cochran, Point Pleasant; MacKenzie Weasenforth, Petersburg